
Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife WDFW-801 (2/2022)      
Application for Fish Dealer License and  Department Use Only 

Wholesale Fish Buyer Endorsement  
License Type Date Received 

for the Year _________     

  
Dealer Number 

      

      
Buyer Number 

 
 

  

   
Total Fee 

   

      
Make fees payable to Department of Fish & Wildlife 

  
Fish Dealer License and Wholesale Fish Buyer Endorsement 

  Fisher Dealer License  

Does not include Wholesale Fish Buyer Endorsement 

  Wholesale Fish Buyer Endorsement  

May only buy for listed Fish Dealer 

Fish Dealer License (Bond not required) Fish Buyer Endorsement (Bond required) 

Company Name/Owner Name Last Name First Name Initial 

Washington State Business License Number (Required) Permanent Street Address 

Permanent Street Address Mailing Address 

Mailing Address City State Zip Code 

City State Zip Code Birthdate  Sex Hair Eyes Weight Height 

Phone Number 
 Resident $505 

 Non-Resident $890 

Permanent Phone Number 
 Resident $350 

 Non-Resident $735 

Contact Person Social Security Number (required) 

Last Name First Name     Phone Number 

I hereby certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington 
that the above information is true and correct. Providing false information may 
invalidate this license. 

Buying Location (Where most of your purchased will be landed)  
I hereby certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of 
Washington that the above information is true and correct. Providing false 
information may invalidate this license. 

Signature of Fisher Dealer  Date Signature of Wholesale Fisher Buyer  Date 

Print Name  Email Address 
  

License will expire December 31st of Issuance Year 
This is a public document. Be advised the information submitted 
may be shared with other government agencies and subject to 

public record requests. 
ALL APPLICATION FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 

Mailing address 
Department of Fish & Wildlife 
Commercial Licensing 
PO BOX 43154 
Olympia WA 98504 
commercialsales@dfw.wa.gov 

If using Fed ex or UPS please use 
Physical Address 
1111 Washington St SE  
Olympia WA 98501 
Phone 360-902-2464 
TDD 360-902-2207      FAX 360-902-2945 
 

mailto:commercialsales@dfw.wa.gov


Some additional licenses and inspections may be required by other agencies 
 

 

RCW 77.65.280 Fish dealer license—Exemption—Fees. 

(1) A fish dealer license is required for a person in the state who: 

(a) Takes possession of raw or frozen fish or shellfish, in whole or in parts, to prepare, repackage, process, or preserve. This includes, but is not 

limited to: 

(i) Canning or processing of fish or shellfish for payment, whether the fish or shellfish is commercially harvested or taken for personal use; and 

(ii) The commercial manufacture or preparation of fertilizer, oil, meal, caviar, fish bait, or any other by-products from fish or shellfish; 

(b) Engages in the wholesale selling, buying, or brokering of raw or frozen fish or shellfish. Certain buyers may be additionally required to obtain 

a wholesale fish buyer endorsement as specified in RCW 77.65.340. 

(2) A fish dealer license is not required for: 

(a) Licensed commercial fish or shellfish harvesters who either sell only to licensed wholesale fish buyers or who possess a limited fish seller 

endorsement; 

(b) Retail businesses that purchase exclusively from Washington licensed wholesale fish buyers or from limited fish sellers for sale to end 

consumers. 

(3) A business engaged in any activity requiring a fish dealer license only needs to purchase one fish dealer license to cover the actions of all 

employees. 

(4) The annual license fee for a resident fish dealer is four hundred dollars. The fee for a nonresident fish dealer license is seven hundred eighty-

five dollars. The application fee for both resident and nonresident licenses is one hundred five dollars. 

RCW 77.65.320 Wholesale fish buyers/limited fish seller—Performance bond.  

(1) A wholesale fish buyer or limited fish seller must deposit with the department an acceptable performance bond on forms prescribed and 
furnished by the department before engaging in fish selling or buying activities. This performance bond shall be a corporate surety bond 
executed in favor of the department by a corporation authorized to do business in the state of Washington under chapter 48.28 RCW and 
approved by the department. 
(a) For wholesale fish buyers, the bond shall be filed and maintained in an amount equal to two thousand dollars. For each additional buyer 
engaged by the wholesale business, the bond must be increased an additional one thousand dollars. 
(b) For limited fish sellers, the bond shall be filed and maintained in an amount equal to one thousand dollars. 
(c) The department may increase the bond amount for persons who have violated rules relating to the accounting of commercial harvest. 
(2) The director may suspend and refuse to reissue a wholesale fish buyer endorsement of a person who has taken possession of fish or 
shellfish without an acceptable performance bond on deposit with the department. 
(3) The director may suspend and refuse to reissue a limited fish seller endorsement to a commercial fisher who has sold fish or shellfish without 
an acceptable performance bond on deposit with the department. 
(4) The bond shall be conditioned upon the compliance with the requirements of this chapter and rules of the department relating to the payment 
of fines for violations of rules for the accounting of the commercial harvest of fish or shellfish. In lieu of the surety bond required by this section, 
the wholesale fish buyer or limited fish seller may file with the department a cash deposit, negotiable securities acceptable to the department, or 
an assignment of a savings account or of a savings certificate in a Washington bank on an assignment form prescribed by the department. 
(5) Liability under the bond may be released only upon written notification from the department. Notification shall be given upon acceptance by 
the department of a substitute bond or forty-five days after the expiration of the wholesale fish buyer or limited fish seller annual endorsement. In 
no event shall the liability of the surety exceed the amount of the surety bond required under this chapter. 
RCW 77.65.340 Wholesale fish buyer endorsement—Fees. 
(1) A wholesale fish buyer endorsement is required for a licensed fish dealer: 
(a) To take first possession or ownership of fish or shellfish directly from a commercial fisher that is landed into the state of Washington; 
(b) To take first possession or ownership of raw or frozen fish or shellfish in the state of Washington from interstate or foreign commerce; or 
(c) To engage in the wholesale buying or selling of fish or shellfish harvested by Indian fishers lawfully exercising fishing rights reserved by 
federal statute, treaty, or executive order, and the dealer is also responsible for documenting the commercial harvest and sales according to the 
rules of the department. 
(2) A business licensed as a fish dealer must purchase at least one wholesale fish buyer endorsement to engage in the activities in subsection 
(1) of this section, which allows the business to buy or sell on its premises and which allows one named employee to buy and sell off premises. 
A business must obtain an additional wholesale fish buyer endorsement for each additional employee who buys and sells fish or shellfish off 
premises. 
(3) The annual fee for a resident wholesale fish buyer's endorsement for business operations with only one fish buyer is fifty dollars. The annual 
fee for a resident wholesale fish buyer's endorsement for business operations with two or more employees is two hundred forty-five dollars. The 
annual fee for a nonresident wholesale fish buyer's endorsement is six hundred thirty dollars. The application fee for both resident and 
nonresident endorsements is one hundred five dollars. 
 

http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=77.65.280
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=77.65.340
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=48.28
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=77.65.340
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