DOH Marine Biotoxin Bulletin
Beach closure listing due to red tide and other marine toxins
WDFW Olympic Region Harmful Algal Bloom (ORHAB) project
 

Map of Razor Clam Beaches

Beaches in Washington with razor clam fisheries include:

Long Beach, which extends from the Columbia River to Leadbetter Point.

Twin Harbors Beach, which extends from the mouth of Willapa Bay north to the south jetty at the mouth of Grays Harbor.

Copalis Beach, which extends from the Grays Harbor north jetty to the Copalis River, and includes the Copalis, Ocean Shores, Oyhut, Ocean City and Copalis areas.

Mocrocks Beach, which extends from the Copalis River to the southern boundary of the Quinault Reservation near the Moclips River, including Iron Springs, Roosevelt Beach, Seabrook, Pacific Beach and Moclips.

Kalaloch Beach, which extends from the South Beach Campground to Brown’s Point (just south of Beach Trail 3) in the Olympic National Park. (This beach is closed to harvest until further notice)

November 26, 2014

Contact:  Dan Ayres, (360) 249-4628

WDFW approves razor clam dig starting Dec. 3,
tentatively schedules digs through February

OLYMPIA - Razor clam diggers can count on a week-long opening beginning Dec. 3 and start planning trips to Washington's beaches in early 2015, after state shellfish managers today announced a schedule of proposed digs through February.

The Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) approved the seven-day dig, which runs Dec. 3-9, after marine toxin tests showed the clams are safe to eat.

Dan Ayres, WDFW coastal shellfish manager, said the best digging typically occurs one to two hours before low tide. No digging is allowed at any beach before noon.

"Crowds of diggers have been on the light side, but the clams continue to grow and are getting fatter," Ayres said. "If you're willing to brave the elements, it's a great opportunity to get some clams."

Under state law, diggers are required to keep the first 15 clams they dig. Each digger's clams must be kept in a separate container.

Digging days and evening tides during the upcoming opening are:

  • Dec. 3, Wednesday; 4:14 p.m., -0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Dec. 4, Thursday; 5:02 p.m., -0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Dec. 5, Friday; 5:45 p.m., -0.9 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Dec. 6, Saturday; 6:26 p.m., -1.0 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks, Copalis
  • Dec. 7, Sunday; 7:05 p.m., -0.9 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Dec. 8, Monday; 7:44 p.m., -0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Dec. 9, Tuesday; 8:21 pm, -0.2 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors

WDFW has proposed another dig in mid-December, if upcoming marine toxin tests are favorable. That dig is tentatively scheduled on the following dates, beaches and low tides:

  • Dec. 19, Friday; 4:41 p.m., 0.0.feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Dec. 20, Saturday, 5:23 p.m., -0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks, Copalis
  • Dec. 21, Sunday, 6:06 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Dec. 22, Monday, 6:48 p.m., -1.3 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Dec. 23, Tuesday, 7:31 p.m., -1.3 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors

Shellfish managers also announced a new schedule of proposed digs for early 2015, which extends an opening tentatively set for Dec. 3. The schedule announced today proposes six more days of digging during the first week in January and three more multi-day digs through February.

"We're announcing these dates now so people can start making plans for the New Year," Ayres said. "We've had a terrific season so far, and expect plenty of great digging in the months ahead."

Below is the tentative schedule of proposed razor clam digs, along with evening low tides and beaches and if marine toxin tests are favorable:

  • Dec. 31, 2014, Wednesday, 3:05 p.m., 0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks, Copalis
  • Jan. 1, 2015, Thursday; 4:01 p.m., 0.2 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks and Copalis
  • Jan. 2, Friday; 4:49 p.m., -0.2 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks and Copalis
  • Jan. 3, Saturday; 5:32 p.m., -0.5 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks and Copalis
  • Jan. 4, Sunday; 6:12 p.m., -0.5 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Jan. 5, Monday; 6:48 p.m., -0.5 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Jan. 6, Tuesday; 7:23 p.m., -0.3 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Jan. 7, Wednesday; 7:57 p.m., -0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Jan. 17, Saturday; 4:15 p.m., 0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks and Copalis
  • Jan. 18, Sunday; 5:02 p.m., -0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Jan. 19, Monday; 5:47 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Jan. 20, Tuesday; 6:30 p.m., -1.4 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Jan. 21, Wednesday; 7:13 p.m., -1.4 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Jan. 22, Thursday; 7:56 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Jan. 23, Friday; 8:40 p.m., -0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Jan. 24, Saturday; 9:25 p.m., 0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks and Copalis
  • Jan. 30, Friday; 3:43 p.m., 0.5 feet Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Jan. 31, Saturday; 4:32 p.m., 0.2 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks and Copalis
  • Feb. 1, Sunday; 5:15 p.m., 0.0 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Feb. 2, Monday; 5:53 p.m., -0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 3, Tuesday; 6:27 p.m., -0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 4, Wednesday; 6:59 p.m., 0.0 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 5, Thursday; 7:30 p.m., 0.2 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 6, Friday; 8:00 p.m., 0.5 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 15, Sunday; 3:47 p.m., 0.2 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 16, Monday; 4:37 p.m., -0.5 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 17, Tuesday; 5:24 p.m., -0.9 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 18, Wednesday; 6:08 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 19, Thursday; 6:51 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 20, Friday; 7:33 p.m., -0.7 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Feb. 21, Saturday; 8:16 p.m., -0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks and Copalis
  • Feb. 22, Sunday; 9:00 p.m., 0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors and Mocrocks

All diggers age 15 or older must have an applicable 2014-15 fishing license to harvest razor clams on any beach. Licenses, ranging from a three-day razor clam license to an annual combination fishing license, are available on WDFW's website at https://fishhunt.dfw.wa.gov and from license vendors around the state.

WDFW has razor clam recipes as well as advice on digging and cleaning clams on its webpage at http://wdfw.wa.gov/fishing/shellfish/razorclams/.



The Washington Department of Health (DOH) monitors shellfish for a variety of contaminants, including biotoxins, pollution, and radiation. For more information on shellfish safety, visit DOH's recreational shellfish webpage.