DOH Marine Biotoxin Bulletin
Beach closure listing due to red tide and other marine toxins
WDFW Olympic Region Harmful Algal Bloom (ORHAB) project
 

Map of Razor Clam Beaches

Beaches in Washington with razor clam fisheries include:

Long Beach, which extends from the Columbia River to Leadbetter Point.

Twin Harbors Beach, which extends from the mouth of Willapa Bay north to the south jetty at the mouth of Grays Harbor.

Copalis Beach, which extends from the Grays Harbor north jetty to the Copalis River, and includes the Copalis, Ocean Shores, Oyhut, Ocean City and Copalis areas.

Mocrocks Beach, which extends from the Copalis River to the southern boundary of the Quinault Reservation near the Moclips River, including Iron Springs, Roosevelt Beach, Seabrook, Pacific Beach and Moclips.

Kalaloch Beach, which extends from the South Beach Campground to Brown’s Point (just south of Beach Trail 3) in the Olympic National Park. (This beach is closed to harvest until further notice)

December 11, 2014

Contact:  Dan Ayres, (360) 249-4628

Five days of razor clam digging begin Dec. 19

OLYMPIA - Clam diggers will get another chance to dig some fresh razor clams for the holidays during an opening Dec. 19-23 at several Washington beaches.

The Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) approved the opening after marine toxin tests showed the clams are safe to eat.

Dan Ayres, WDFW coastal shellfish manager, recommends clam diggers bring lanterns for these evening digs and come prepared for cold, wet weather.

"This late December opener will be a great time to stock up on razor clams," he said. "Smoked razor clams can make a tasty appetizer at a holiday gathering."

Ayres noted that smoked clams will keep in the refrigerator for two or three weeks. Recipes for razor clams can be found on WDFW's website at http://wdfw.wa.gov/fishing/shellfish/razorclams/recipes.html.

The best digging typically occurs one to two hours before low tide, said Ayres, noting that digging is not allowed at any beach before noon.

Upcoming digs are scheduled on the following dates, beaches and low tides:

  • Dec. 19, Friday; 4:41 p.m., 0.0 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Dec. 20, Saturday, 5:23 p.m., -0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks, Copalis
  • Dec. 21, Sunday, 6:06 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Dec. 22, Monday, 6:48 p.m., -1.3 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Dec. 23, Tuesday, 7:31 p.m., -1.3 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors

Under state law, diggers can take 15 razor clams per day and are required to keep the first 15 they dig. Each digger's clams must be kept in a separate container.

All diggers age 15 or older must have an applicable 2014-15 fishing license to harvest razor clams on any beach. Licenses, ranging from a three-day razor clam license to an annual combination fishing license, are available on WDFW's website at https://fishhunt.dfw.wa.gov and from license vendors around the state.

For additional information about upcoming razor clam digs, see WDFW's website at http://wdfw.wa.gov/fishing/shellfish/razorclams/current.html.

Tentative upcoming digs:

Below is the tentative schedule of proposed razor clam digs, along with evening low tides and beaches and if marine toxin tests are favorable:

  • Dec. 31, 2014, Wednesday, 3:05 p.m., 0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks, Copalis
  • Jan. 1, 2015, Thursday; 4:01 p.m., 0.2 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks and Copalis
  • Jan. 2, Friday; 4:49 p.m., -0.2 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks and Copalis
  • Jan. 3, Saturday; 5:32 p.m., -0.5 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks and Copalis
  • Jan. 4, Sunday; 6:12 p.m., -0.5 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Jan. 5, Monday; 6:48 p.m., -0.5 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Jan. 6, Tuesday; 7:23 p.m., -0.3 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Jan. 7, Wednesday; 7:57 p.m., -0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Jan. 17, Saturday; 4:15 p.m., 0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks and Copalis
  • Jan. 18, Sunday; 5:02 p.m., -0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Jan. 19, Monday; 5:47 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Jan. 20, Tuesday; 6:30 p.m., -1.4 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Jan. 21, Wednesday; 7:13 p.m., -1.4 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Jan. 22, Thursday; 7:56 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Jan. 23, Friday; 8:40 p.m., -0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Jan. 24, Saturday; 9:25 p.m., 0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks and Copalis
  • Jan. 30, Friday; 3:43 p.m., 0.5 feet Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Jan. 31, Saturday; 4:32 p.m., 0.2 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks and Copalis
  • Feb. 1, Sunday; 5:15 p.m., 0.0 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Feb. 2, Monday; 5:53 p.m., -0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 3, Tuesday; 6:27 p.m., -0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 4, Wednesday; 6:59 p.m., 0.0 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 5, Thursday; 7:30 p.m., 0.2 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 6, Friday; 8:00 p.m., 0.5 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 15, Sunday; 3:47 p.m., 0.2 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 16, Monday; 4:37 p.m., -0.5 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 17, Tuesday; 5:24 p.m., -0.9 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 18, Wednesday; 6:08 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 19, Thursday; 6:51 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 20, Friday; 7:33 p.m., -0.7 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Feb. 21, Saturday; 8:16 p.m., -0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks and Copalis
  • Feb. 22, Sunday; 9:00 p.m., 0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors and Mocrocks

All diggers age 15 or older must have an applicable 2014-15 fishing license to harvest razor clams on any beach. Licenses, ranging from a three-day razor clam license to an annual combination fishing license, are available on WDFW's website at https://fishhunt.dfw.wa.gov and from license vendors around the state.

WDFW has razor clam recipes as well as advice on digging and cleaning clams on its webpage at http://wdfw.wa.gov/fishing/shellfish/razorclams/.



The Washington Department of Health (DOH) monitors shellfish for a variety of contaminants, including biotoxins, pollution, and radiation. For more information on shellfish safety, visit DOH's recreational shellfish webpage.