For more information
please contact the
Hunter Education Program.
| Please Note
||All individuals born after 1 January
1972 must also show proof of basic hunter education training from Washington
or another state before enrolling in the Master Hunter program.
If required, enclose a copy of your hunter education certificate
or the year and state in which you completed your training.
The 2007 Washington State Legislature approved a
measure that allows a one-year, once-in-a-lifetime
deferral of hunter education training. The deferral
option is available to individuals who are accompanied
by an experienced hunter who has held a Washington
hunting license for the previous three years. A $20
application fee is required.
Interested individuals may apply for a once in a
lifetime, one license-year deferral of hunter education
hunter education deferral does not
waive the training
just lets you
hunt this year.
Plan on a two week turnaround from the time
your deferral application arrives at the Olympia office.
Hunters purchasing a hunting license via this deferral
process MUST purchase their hunting license
from the Department of Fish and Wildlife headquarters
in Olympia. Please note that purchases can be made
via telephone. There is no need to appear in Olympia
in person. Individuals who exercise the deferral option MUST subsequently complete hunter education
in order to purchase future hunting licenses.
The accompanying hunter MUST have valid Washington
State hunting licenses for each of the three preceding
years. A non-refundable $20 check or money order MUST accompany each application for a hunter education
deferral. If you already have a WILD identification
number, please put it on your application. Anyone
who has purchased a fishing license already has a
Please print legibly.
Be sure that you include a photocopy of the identification
you list in the application. Valid forms of identification
are a driver’s license, a government identification
card that includes your birth date, an active duty
Military Identification Card, a copy of a birth certificate,
or a school identification card that includes your
Your application for a hunter education deferral
will be returned and you forfeit your application
fee if you do not provide a photocopy of your valid
identification Sign your name at the bottom of the
application. If you are under 18 years of age, a parent
or legal guardian is also required to sign in the
Finally, make sure that you have enclosed your non-refundable
$20 check or money order.
Please print legibly.
As an accompanying hunter you must be at least 18
years of age. In addition, you must have had a valid
Washington hunting license for each of the previous
three (3) years. Be sure to include your WILD identification
number. Applications will not be processed without
the WILD number.
Remember that you are required to provide direct
supervision over the deferred hunter. You must remain
within normal voice and vision communication at all
Take your new responsibility as an accompanying
If either a deferred licensee or the accompanying
hunter is convicted of a fish and wildlife violation,
the Department of Fish and Wildlife may revoke all
hunting licenses and tags of one or both the deferred
license and the accompanying hunter
Washington State requires all hunters born after
January 1, 1972 to successfully complete hunter education
training. Training is available via traditional classes
For class schedule information, please pick up a
copy of Washington Outdoors where hunting licenses
are sold. Washington Outdoors lists all hunter education
classes by county. You may also find class
schedule information on line at wdfw.wa.gov.
Online hunter education training is available at http://www.hunter-ed.com/wa/
Please remember that classes are taught by volunteer
instructors who are not paid for their time, and that
classes fill rapidly. Plan ahead to complete your
hunter education training requirement.
This program receives Federal
financial assistance from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife
Service. It is the policy of the Washington State
Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) to adhere
to the following: Title VI of the Civil Rights Act
of 1964, Section 5604 of the Rehabilitation Act
of 1973, Title II of the Americans with Disabilities
Act of 1990, the Age Discrimination Act of 1975,
and Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972.
The U.S. Department of the Interior and its bureaus
prohibit discrimination on the bases of race, color,
national origin, age, disability and sex (in educational
programs). If you believe that you have been discriminated
against in any program, activity or facility, please
contact WDFW ADA Coordinator at 600 Capitol Way
North, Olympia, Washington 98501-1091 or write to:
U.S. Fish and Wildlife
Office of External Programs
4040 N. Fairfax Drive, Suite 130
Arlington, VA 22203
| HUNTER EDUCATION DEFERRAL APPLICATION
1. No photocopy
The deferred hunter MUST submit
a copy of valid identification. Valid
forms of identification include a
driver’s license, a Washington
identification card, a birth certificate,
Social Security card, or a school
identification card (with picture).
hunter does not qualify
The accompanying hunter must have
a valid Washington (not out-of-state)
hunting license for the previous three
to provide all required signatures
Both the deferred hunter and the
mentor hunter must sign the application
form in ink. Fax copies are not acceptable.
If the deferred hunter is under 18
years of age a parent or legal guardian
must also sign the application.