|The open enrollment period for the Master Hunter Permit Program (MHPP)
will begin January 1, 2016 and remain open until February 15, 2016
The Master Hunter Permit Program is designed to promote responsible hunting. In addition to training,
the program emphasizes safe, lawful and ethical hunting priorities while
upholding the highest standards. The program offers an opportunity for
conscientious, committed hunters who care about the future of hunting
to assume a leadership role among their peers. Through their knowledge
and conduct in the field, Master Hunters play a key role in improving
relationships with landowners, thus ensuring continued hunter access to
Individuals who successfully complete the Master Hunter Permit Program receive
a patch as recognition of their accomplishments. A personalized Master
Hunter permit with the person's name, Master Hunter number, issue date,
and renewal date will also be provided. Master Hunters are eligible to
participate in special hunts aimed at reducing
property damage and/or public safety problems posed by wildlife. Special
hunt opportunities vary from year to year, and may include elk, deer, bear, turkey and goose hunts in designated areas throughout Washington.
Those enrolling in the Master Hunter Permit Program should be motivated by a
genuine desire to learn and model a high level of hunting knowledge and
skill. Training is offered through independent study, offering maximum
flexibility for candidates.
To become a certified
Master Hunter, each applicant is required to:
- Demonstrate proficiency
with a bow, handgun, muzzleloader, rifle, shotgun shooting shot, shotgun shooting slugs, or crossbow.
Scoring your shooting instructions
- Provide at least
20 hours of volunteer service on a project benefiting state wildlife
- Attend Crime Observation
and Reporting Training (C.O.R.T.).
- Receive a score
of at least 80 percent on a written examination, based on provided independent-study
- Sign an agreement
to abide by the Master Hunter Code of Ethics.
- Submit to and pass a law
enforcement background check.
The examination to become a Master Hunter is difficult. Here are some tips to help you prepare: Advice for Master Hunter Applicants Preparing to Test [PDF]
Master Hunter Applications will only be accepted during the open enrollment period of January 1 – February 15 of each year. All program requirements must be completed by November 15, of the year the application is received.
To enroll in the Master Hunter Permit Program, download and fill out
the Master Hunter Permit Application form.
Mail the completed application, with the $50 application fee payable by
check to: WDFW Master Hunter, to the address listed on the application form.
Beginning October 16, 2009, the fee for a Master Hunter permit application will be $50.00, payable by check or money order to: WDFW Master Hunter. The fee includes independent study materials in CD format and printed documents.
Effective October 16, 2009, the cost to renew a Master Hunter permit for an additional five year period will be $25.00, payable by check or money order to: WDFW Master Hunter. This non-refundable fee will apply to any certified Master Hunter with a renewal anniversary date of October 16, 2009, or later.
For more information about the Master Hunter Permit Program, contact the Washington
Department of Fish and Wildlife’s Hunter Education staff in Olympia
at (360) 902-8412 or email@example.com
If you have lost your Master Hunter permit,
contact WDFW at (360) 902-8412. You may request a duplicate permit but
will be charged a $5.00 fee. Checks MUST be written to: WDFW Master Hunter.
Update your contact
Please remember to update your contact
information including phone, mailing address, and e-mail address. Notify
WDFW at (360) 902-8412, firstname.lastname@example.org
Contacting the WDFW Master
Hunter Permit Program
Master Hunter Permit Section
600 Capitol Way North
Olympia, WA 98501-1091